Agora, a Turkish Delight

Nestled on the Upper East side is Agora.  The first and only Turkish restaurant I have ever had the privilege to try. As a first time experience, I feel I have been robbed from the amazing food I have been missing all these years. (Truthfully, I can’t think of a single Turkish restaurant in Toronto but that maybe my own fault).

Agora covers all the bases. Delivering great food, customer service and atmosphere.An additional nod must be given to the interior design -tastefully modern yet comfortable. Have I mentioned how clean this place is especially the bathroom facilities? I always check that. Very happy to give that a 5 out of 5.

Upon seating, they bring the most delicious bread and dip. Made in house, I loved the fluffy bread but honestly had to hold back from eating the entire thing.

The aroma was as heavenly as the flavours in the Lamb Adana. Ground lamb char grilled in an array of aromatic spices and red peppers. Served with an onion, cabbage slaw, grilled jalapeño and tomato and rice. The lamb itself was sitting on this thin glazed bread. I savoured every bite.

For dessert I had their baked rice pudding. Served in adorable terracota containers. This absolutely hit the spot. Smooth and not too sweet.

One of the best meals I’ve had in new york.

IMG_20160327_145330
fluffy bread
IMG_20160327_154624
baked rice pudding

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Agora, a Turkish Delight

Leave a comment